Welcome

Over the past 2½ years, I have personally undergone a major shift in consciousness thanks to the breakup of my long term marriage, a move back to Toronto and restarting my spiritual counselling and teaching practice.

As hard as it turned out (like going through a knot backward!) it was the best thing that could have happened. 

I was forced to take a good look at me, what was and wasn’t working, and what I needed to change in my life. This experience forced me to dive deep into my own psyche; to see the dark shadows lurking there.  To own them, embrace them as part of my authentic self.  It felt like “losing everything” to gain everything.  Through my encounter with depression, I had to come face to face with the ‘truth’ of me and what was truly important; what was not. 

As a spiritual counsellor, I thought I “knew” a lot.  Turns out I really didn’t know as much as I thought.  It has been a humbling and most rewarding experience with some of the hardest lessons I have ever had to learn. It was also the darkest period of my life.   I truly thought I had nothing to offer as a human being, and a spiritual counsellor.

I realized I had a choice; to succumb to my depression and a life only half lived or to take charge of my life.  I chose to recommit to being happy, joyful, at peace, heart-centred, grateful, loving, compassionate, kind and continue to be in service to others.  I committed to being myself.

I know I am a “work in progress”; sometimes getting it and sometimes not. Yet, continuing to love myself and be gentle with myself as I emerge.  I am right where I am meant to be and I love, accept and forgive myself.  The same is true of others and I choose to love accept and forgive them.

I couldn’t have come through this experience without a lot of love, support and guidance from those around me, my children, my friends, my family, as well as those unseen spiritual sources.

I see my life as a wondrous gift each and every day.  I have a choice about what I do with it.  I have been given a “second chance” and I am determined not to squander it.  My simple intention is to do no harm to any living being through what I say, think and do and to stay centred in my heart. From there I speak, think and do.  I have no idea how long I will be here, none of us does no matter what age we are so time is of the essence.

In this year of enlightened transformation (2012), my hope is this blog will begin a conversation about authenticity, self-awareness, integrity and hope; about being the change our world needs desperately to be sustainable,to flourish and thrive. These are truly exciting and transformative times.

From time to time, I will share what is going on for me as I continue this life journey.  My hope is you will join me in the conversation by sharing your insights, experiences and what inspires you.

2 Comments

Filed under Wake Up ~ Be the Change

2 responses to “Welcome

  1. patricia

    It has been my experience that depression has moved me forward on my journey because it has stopped me dead in my tracks. I have sometimes described my depression as the universe ripping the carpet out from under my feet, flipping me on my back, and sucking the air out of my lungs.
    I lie there for as long as I have to staring at the ceiling. Then I get it….”Oh you (the universe) were talking to me” …….Then I slowly get back up on my feet, I dust myself off , and I try try again.

Leave a Reply

