Wake Up ~ Be the Change: Maturity

Recently, I came across a wonderful book, Osho’s, Maturity: The Responsibility of being Oneself.  It was like a megawatt bulb being switched on and it gave me a whole new insight into myself and the world I am a part of.  I had to take a look at my own level of maturity (or lack thereof).

We live in a world that thrives on blaming others and finding someone else to take responsibility for the things we say, think and do and the impact those things.  I had up to that point been living most of my life that way.

There seems to be little awareness of how our own unresolved pain and suffering spills over and infects the lives of others.  We feel we are justified in treating people with little or no respect, little or no love or compassion because that is how we are being treated.  (Two wrongs don’t make a right my mother would say) Often this comes from our own lack of self-respect, love and compassion; our own inability to love and accept ourselves or being comfortable with our own vulnerability.

Words and behaviour carry energy that reach far beyond the event itself and contribute to the universal “bank account” of violence and fear.

Waking up and being the change means we have to be more self-aware of our impact on ourselves, others and the world at large; to stop doing the same things over again expecting different results; expecting others to change first.

Waking up and being the change means we take responsibility for our actions, our thoughts, and then offering a sincere apology.

We are a society that has lost the art of sincere apology.  Simply saying “I am sorry” is not good enough.  Sorry for what?  What have you learned about yourself?  How can you make this right?  Will you do what is necessary to ensure it doesn’t happen again?  Can you ask for forgiveness?  All this is the substance of true and sincere apology.

Osho’s book has had a profound effect on me and how I choose to live my life going forward.  I intend on taking responsibility for my thoughts, speech and actions.  It has helped me recommit to the precept of “do no harm”; to be more self-aware and to think before I speak and act.  My actions, words and thoughts have great power to create heaven or to create hell.  Each and every moment, we have a choice.  I choose to be kind.  I hope you do, too.

1 Comment

Filed under Wake Up ~ Be the Change

One response to “Wake Up ~ Be the Change: Maturity

  1. Barbara, thank you for this thoughtful piece and I look forward to finding the book. Anne

Leave a Reply

