Less is More

About 4 or 5 years ago, I was awakened by this question, “How much do we really need to live a good and happy life?” The more I have pondered that question, the more simply I intentionally live my life. To make changes, I started by looking at the relationships I had with stuff in general, with money, myself and others, the environment, my thoughts, and my emotions.

And so over those years, I have been doing my best to downsize in those areas. As a result, my life has been richly enhanced, expanded and enlightened.

The less I have, the more depth and clarity is revealed. I will continue to evolve as I deliberately create the space for something new and magical by letting go of those things that no longer serve me. Life seems to be a continual process of “clearing house”.

Some of the ways that work for me are:

Surrendering/letting go
Moving
Recycling
Elimination (in all its forms)
Mindfulness Meditation
Journaling
Solo walks preferably in nature
Observation

I am sure there are many others and I look forward to discovering them as I travel this life.

Recently, I was introduced to an article in the Toronto Star newspaper about “tech-savvy 20-somethings” who had discovered this concept and were actively practicing it. I include it for your enjoyment.

http://www.thestar.com/living/article/1297613–meet-generation-m-minimalists-trying-to-live-better-by-cutting-clutter-consumption

May love, peace and joy fill your hearts now and throughout the year ahead. Please share that with those around you, whatever your tradition.

6 Comments

Filed under Wake Up ~ Be the Change

6 responses to “Less is More

  1. Stephanie Needham

    Perfect Barb! I fully support you in this …. I too have scaled way back! Hooray for simplicity! In many areas of my life too.

    Stephanie

  2. Hedy

    Less IS more, Barb… I know how much we let go of when we downsized, and I STILL think we have too much! Thanks for the reminder on looking at ways to decrease even further!

    • Barbara McDowall

      When I moved back to Toronto in 2009, I downsized and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Now I continue to do so and appreciate the energy and space I create.

  3. Carolyn

    Lovely message to enter the solstice and season of moving from darkness to light. Thanks Barb!

Leave a Reply

